CHAKRAS — What are Chakras?

Posted by SEO Manager on

Most likely you have heard of Chakras or seen images depicting various colors such as the one above. But how much do you actually know about what the Chakras are, where the knowledge of them comes from, and what the word “Chakra” actually means? ⁣
Literally speaking, the word “chakra” from Sanskrit translates to “wheel” or “disk.” But it also references a spiritual energy center within the human body, of which there are seven along the spine, and through the neck and the crown of your head. ⁣
The chakra system originated in India between 1500 and 500 BC in the oldest text called the Vedas. The Vedas are the earliest Sanskrit literary records and the most ancient scriptures of Hinduism. As for the purpose of the seven chakras? They each correspond to specific organs as well as physical, emotional, psychological, and spiritual states of being and influence all areas of your life. Within these chakras is ‘prana,’ or the ultimate pure healing energy, that’s all around us and within us, to keep us healthy, happy, and vibrant.⁣
While there isn’t much scientific evidence that supports the physical manifestations of spiritual energy, the study of the seven chakras and chakra alignment—whether it be through meditation, reiki, or yoga—is rooted in the belief that when the chakras are open and aligned, our energy is constantly free-flowing, allowing prana to flow through them. But before you can dive deep into each chakra, you need to know the basics.⁣
Over the next few weeks we will be exploring and introducing you to each of the chakras in detail: what they are, where they are located, their physiological, emotionally and energetic qualities, mantras for them, imbalances/blockages, and yoga poses to regain balance within them.

Share this post

← Older Post Newer Post →

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published.